This St Patrick’s day: events all across the United Kingdom will celebrate cultural heritage. Traditional and Industrial aspects of our heritage will be presented on various family day events that dive deeper into our past.
Below is a few ideas how to spend this coming weekend:
EUROPEAN INDUSTRIAL HERITAGE PROJECT
The European Federation Associations of Industrial and Technical Heritage, EFAITH has prepared campaign that highlights the industrial heritage during this Year.
This weekend various engines will be turned on in a series of demonstrations across the Country.
March is themed as EFAITH’s month of: Energy, Power and Prime Movers.
From mills and steam to nuclear energy.
The aim of the project is to establish links and cooperation between industrial heritage associations, both through the country and through transnational links between different countries. Twinning between European Nations will help exchange ideas and experiences.
During each month specific themes will be highlighted throughout Europe
for more information click here:
Bursledon Brickworks will be steaming their engine along with many others across Europe on the weekend of 17th/18th March – in celebration of the European Year of Cultural Heritage and British Science Week.
Generously funded by the British Science Association, the museum will be open to local Brownie Guide groups (girls aged 7-10) who will be learning about science to the sound, sights and smells of the museum’s steam engine.
We are delighted to take part in the EYCH by steaming up in unison with engines across Europe.
This event is only open to pre-booked Brownie groups.
To enquire, email email@example.com
The Markfield beam Engine and Museum is opening their European Steam Weekend with an open public talk and demonstration of an original steam-powered Victorian sewage works pumping engine.
The Museum features a Grade 2 listed engine hall housing a restored, working Wood bros. steam-powered beam engine dating from 1888 – a masterpiece of Victorian engineering and an example of industrial heritage of social and engineering importance.
The engine is in its Grade II engine house, and participants of the tour will be able to see the remains of the original sewage works (some of which dates to the 1850s and is one of the earliest examples of a local community sewage treatment facility).
Kelham Island Museum Steaming Weekend
Also visit the Power House and experience the roar of the new River Don Engine boiler as it fires up to full steam.
Kelham Island Museum, Alma Street, Sheffield, S3 8RY
Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet Steaming Weekend
Built by Davy Brothers and installed in 1855, the steam engine provided an additional source of power to Abbeydale’s grinding hull.
The afternoon promises music from Scotland, Ireland and the wider world will played on a range of reproduction instruments that you might not have even heard of by our living history characters!
Meet the Monks at Newtownard’s Priory
This unique Dominican priory is home for the day to the Prior and his Novice, medieval monks who invite you to try your hand with the quill pen and join them in this peaceful town gem.
At the south east edge of Newtownards these substantial remains of a Dominican (Black) Friary founded in 1244 may be viewed.
They are the only ones of their type in Northern Ireland. Built by the Savage family the buildings were destroyed by Sir Brian O’Neill to prevent English soldiers using them.
Sir Hugh Montgomery restored the church in 1607 and added a small chapel but it fell into disrepair in the middle of the 18th-century. The Priory is currently not generally open to the public .
Longbow at Carrickfergus Castle
Come along to Carrickfergus Castle and Have-a-Go at shooting the longbow and learn the way of the archer Man-at-Arms.
Living history at Greyabbey brings this monastery to life again.
The healing power of herbs will be showcased by the Brothers Apothecary at the monastery garden, mixing concoctions and tinctures to aid the pilgrims and wayfarers.
Greyabbey is one of the best example of Anglo-Norman Cistercian architecture in Ulster and was the daughter house of Holm Cultram (Cumbria).
It was founded in 1193 by Affreca, wife of John de Courcy, the Anglo-Norman invader of East Ulster. Poor and decayed in the late Middle Ages, the abbey was dissolved in 1541 but in the early 17th century was granted to Sir Hugh Montgomery and the nave was refurbished for parish worship until the late 18th century.
The remains, in the beautiful parkland setting of the nearby grand house of Rosemount, consist of the church with cloister and surrounding buildings to the south.
There is a small visitor centre with displays at the entrance and a reconstructed ‘medieval’ physic (herb) garden.